Crazy is, as crazy does

Well, here it is. 

Over the last few months I’ve been diagnosed with a plethora of Mental Health issues which have arisen from catalysts that were both to be expected and sudden. I’m making a point of not writing about these catalysts; the people in my life who are closest to me will know what these are, and I don’t feel the need to elaborate any further on those subjects. The may arise in brief due to their triggering nature on my mental state, but they aren’t going to be the focus of what I want to write about.

I was recently asked by my family in Sweden – Yoohoo, hi family!* – for a greater understanding of what I’m going through, health wise, so that they know what to say to me and how they can help. Got to admit though, I felt pretty helpless about that. I struggle to explain to people that see me regularly, never mind how to do it for those in a different country. I was writing about this in my personal journal that I keep on the suggestion from my therapist, whilst simultaneously trying to decide who should voice my inner monologue (A camp-esque Ralph Fiennes character a-la Wes Anderson movies, or Bill Murray. I still haven’t decided) when I had a sort of light bulb epiphany. I’ll write a blog.

Now, I don’t proclaim to be a great writer or an expert on mental health by any means. This is purely for those in my life that would like to hear my experiences portrayed by my, erm, often unique outlook. However, if you’re here by chance or are also experiencing your own mental health issues I do hope this can be of some help to you, or y’know at the very least, can give you some amusement as you get a snapshot into my comically tragic state of being.

My ramblings will focus on my diagnoses (PTSD, OCD, Anxiety/Agoraphobia) and how I experience these and the effect they have on me and my life; forms of treatment I’m receiving or looking into for the future; things that I find to be helpful in looking after myself; and what would help me from someone else.

This journey is still kind of new to me, and a lot of the time I have no idea what I’m doing or what I’m talking about. I also can’t guarantee the frequency of my posts so that’s pretty helpful for starting a blog, right? But there it is: it’s a start. And I do very much hope that you’ll bare with me whilst I’m figuring this whole thing out and if you don’t, well, catch you later hater.

x

 

(*Extra special brownie points to anyone who understands that reference.)

2 thoughts on “Crazy is, as crazy does

Leave a Reply

