LA LA Land

As part of my American travels in June/July, after I have been to San Francisco and Las Vegas I will be driving down to Los Angeles by myself for a little soul searching in the form of staying at a treatment centre for three weeks.

Now, when I say “treatment centre” I don’t mean I’m being institutionalised. It’s a centre in the form of two beautiful big houses in Venice Beach specifically for women to help with a wide range of mental health illnesses and one of these is PTSD. I’ve done a lot of research into it, had various phone conversations and emails with them and I finally bit the bullet and booked it. It’s going to be an intense few weeks, and I’ll be receiving a form of therapy called PET for 90 mins around 4/5 times a week but along with this they also offer complete relaxation and you are able to come and go as you please. It’s not a prison after all!

Part of me is excited, part of me is terrified. I’m looking forward to actually being somewhere on my own and I’m hoping that receiving treatment in a chilled out environment (in stead of London which seems to be massively triggering for me), as well as it being a different kind of treatment and being able to meet and speak to other women in similar situations will likely be hugely helpful. However, I am confronting a horrible illness in this case all on my own around strangers which is a scary thought but I need to keep reminding myself that I need this. PTSD is taking over my life and I feel so unsafe, unsettled and unhappy all of the time because of it. I can’t move on until I know how to cope with this better.

Again, like pretty much everywhere else I know a few people in LA and will be able to meet up with them in my spare time which will also be really nice. I enjoy LA (apart from the traffic), and Venice is actually one of my favourite places down to its cool vibe and “anything goes” attitude.

I’ll try my best to write as much as I can about my experience as I know a lot of people are interested in the process and how I should find it.

Leave a Reply

