Homecoming

In the most tragic and unforseen turn of events, I am cutting my trip short and returning to the UK. My best friend has so sadly and so suddenly just lost her younger sister, and so I am flying back tomorrow evening to be with her.

I was originally due to fly back from LA on the 7th of July after staying at the treatment centre, but as I am currently in Vegas I’ll fly to London from here tomorrow night. I’ll arrive back into London on Monday morning, and I’ll get the train down to Devon on Tuesday.

I know that she’s upset that I’m cutting my trip short, but when the people you love are hurting you have to rally for them. Everything else comes second. Although I was at home when Parker died and I isolated myself considerably on my return, she has been there for me at the push of a button with everything that has happened this year. It’s just what you do for each other. My only regret is that I’m not there at the moment, it’s a very difficult thing to hear someone you love in distress over the phone when you’re thousands of miles away.

It’s only her and her Dad really, and I know he doesn’t keep very well so I’ll stay with them and help in whatever way I can – even if it’s the very basic household things while they sort things out. The silver lining of this is that I don’t start my new job until the 9th so I can be flexible with where I am and what I’m doing, whereas our other friends have been available this weekend for her but have to travel back to London for work tomorrow.

There’s no right words you can give to someone who is grieving, although it’s a universal experience I think it’s something that’s very personal to that individual. Everyone reacts differently to loss, and there’s no “one size fits all” approach to how you deal with it. You just have to be there, and do whatever you can to help them through.

Leave a Reply

